top of page

Add energy center/chakras text, profiles, images

Energy Centers


Introduction to Chakras or Energy Centers

Seven primary strategically located energy centers called chakras spiral non-stop


between the base of the spine and top of the head, and may often be awakened with


meditation and guided stretching. 



These seven primary vortices of energy that keep the body in constant motion are


located in lower sacrum, below navel, upper abdomen, upper torso, base of throat,


eyebrow center, and crown of head.

Each chakra is represented by distinct symbols and names that correspond with


various bodily functions.  Activating these 7 energy centers through breath and


movement greatly enhances regional function. 



For example, base chakra or mooladhara enhances functioning of excretory system;


lower abdominal chakra or swadishtana impacts digestive system; activating upper


abdominal chakra or manipura revives secretions of the endocrine system.

The heart chakra or anahata is integral to all else, and linked to emotions; jalandhira 

chakra located at base of throat is linked to respiratory system; eyebrow center or ajna 

chakra controls pituitary activity; while the most quintessential of all, sahasrara, is


known to control cranial functions.  

Chakra Diagram

Chakra Profiles/ Colors/ Sounds/ Regions

Sahasara chakra / violet / “ahng” crown of head 

/ pineal, brain/ depression, insomnia, hypertension

Ajna chakra / indigo / “oum” forehead, eyebrow center 

/ pituitary/ myopia, migraine, attention disorder

Vishuddhi chakra / blue / “hum” back of chest 

/ heart, lungs/ asthma, backache, sinusitis

Anahata chakra / green / “yum” base of throat, jugular 

/ thyroid/ obesity, fatigue, breathlessness

Manipura chakra / yellow / “rum” upper abdomen 

/ liver, pancreas, diabetes, flatulence, gastritis

Swadisthana chakra / orange / “vum” lower abdomen 

/ digestive, excretory/ constipation, dyspepsia, lumbago

Mooladhara chakra / red / “lum” base of spine, sacrum 

/ reproductive/ arthritis, piles, sciatica


Mudras/ Gestures – Power in your Palm

Mudras or gestures, are a source of power-in-your-palm. The human body has an


innate capacity to heal itself. The 5 elements of nature resident in our system are -


fire (thumb); air (index finger); ether (middle finger); earth (ring finger); and


water (little finger).  Activating nerve endings in our finger-tips enhances dominance


of the 5 elements.  Words says a lot about us; gestures say all about our health.



Although mudras are not confined to hand gestures, classical Indian dancers use


them to show emotions of love, anger, envy, and passion. Connecting the fingertips


activate the chakras, offering unique health benefits. In times when religion was


pre-dominant, apostles and other divine figures were depicted with the right palm


facing up and out, emanating an ethereal glow – a symbol of eternal love, lasting


peace, protection from evil. This gesture is called abhaya mudra. Indian deities are


depicted with palm facing down in varada mudra, indicating granting of wishes.



Connecting the fore finger and the thumb with palms facing down (while seated in


Vajra asana or the diamond position) is referred to as chin mudra, and relates to


acquisition of knowledge. The same gesture when placed on knees (as we sit in


Padma asana or lotus position), with palms facing up is called gyan mudra,


indication readiness to share wisdom.

As a tiny segment of a vast science, mudras for physical / emotional well-being are:


Bhudi / water — thumb & little finger touch; index,

middle, ring finger open – retains fluid balance

Prithvi / earth — thumb & ring finger touch; index,

middle, little finger open – energizes the body

Shunya / ether — thumb & middle finger touch;

index, ring, little finger open – aids positive thinking

Gyan / knowledge — thumb & index touch; middle,

ring, little finger open – aids positive thinking

Ahamakra / fearlessness — thumb, side of index touch;

other three fingers open – evicts waste, cleanses mind

Apan / pure — thumb, middle, ring finger touch; index,

little finger open – evicts wastes, cleanses mind

Hakini / steeple — all fingertips on one hand touch all

fingertips on the other – aids memory retention

Pushan / acceptance — left: thumb on middle and ring

finger aids digestion; right hand: thumb on index and 

middle finger stimulates the brain

Nadis or Nerve Endings

Research shows that 72,000 nerve ending in our body (connected to various


glands and organs), end in the soles of our feet and palms of our hands. So


it makes sense to periodically apply pressure on nerve endings to refresh and


monitor overall spinal health. Excessive pain in specific regions may suggest


an imbalance in the body, and should be medically addressed right away.

bottom of page